2-person tent for kayak camping

The time has finally come for me and my wife to acquire a 2-person tent for kayaking, to supplement the loner and the luxury 3-person model that we used for canoing in the past. The 3-person baby will fit in either kayak, but it takes up a lotta precious space.

So, I’d be grateful for recommendations pro and con.

This is for three-season camping in the northeast. Apart from the usual criteria for kayaking tents, we like decent height at the peak.

Thanks. --David.

check
out Mountain Hardware. I love their tents and we’ve been using the 2 person versions for kayak camping a couple of years now.

Vector 22
I’m currently using a North Face Vector 22 and couldn’t be happier with it. I’ll admit I have little experience with other tents though so their could sure be things I’m missing.

It’s a free standing dome tent using 2 poles that I can set up in under 2 minutes and a couple more minutes for the rain fly. Nice and light and compact, the whole thing (tent, fly, poles) weighs under 5 pounds and compresses quite small if you take the poles out of the bag and store them seperately. I got mine at Campmor.com for a little over $200 this spring.

I haven’t had a chance to do any kayak camping yet, that’s coming next year.

Alan

REI Half Dome
Just used it for the first time on a 2 week trip and loved it. You need to have plenty of ground room at your campsites though, as the 2 vestibules take up some serious real estate.

Lyn

eureka
http://www.eurekatent.com/

REI Halfdome HC-2
Yep, was just looking at it in REI. Glad to hear an endorsement.

Can you choose not to deploy one or both vestibules if in a tight spot?

–David.

Which Mountain Hardware?
REI carries three… Light Wedge 2, Hammerhead 2, Skyledge 2.

The Skykledge is certainly too small for ~my~ comfort (at 26 sq ft). The Hammerhead has a nice peak (45"), 2 doors/vestibules, and packs down to 6x17, as small as anything in the category. But it’s pricey at $255.