2003 Old Town Stillwater - How deep do I sand?

I bought Stillwater this summer with quite a few scratches which they are known for. This was not much of concern but I want to switch from factory green to more of a tan marsh color.

I started sanding today to prepare for painting (Rust-Oleum 207003 Marine Coatings Topside Paint). And the green outer paint gave away to the very thin layer of gray, that gave away to a white layer. I would appreciate advice regarding am I sanding too deep or just right. I plan to stop at the white which I am assuming is raw fiberglass. It was not difficult to sand down to the white with 80 grit disk sander.

This picture shows all three layers; green top, gray middle and white from deeper scratch.

This is my first time painting a canoe. Feel free to point to existing articles that explain the process I should follow.

Thank you in advance!
David

I forgot to mention, there is one round spider crack that doesn’t leak. I was planning to simply sand and paint but maybe I need to do more.

Thanks again!
David

I painted my canoe with the Rustoleum Topside paint. I would strongly suggest you look at other paints. It is very delicate, scratches, chips, and peels easily. My canoe didn’t have a previous coat of paint, just the gel coat. I painted it due to some repairs I had to make, and thought painting it would make it look better. I made the repairs, sanded the entire canoe, applied a coat of Rustoleum wood and fiberglass primer, sanded again, then coat two of primer. Sanded again, the top coats. It took three coats before I couldn’t see the primer. But it did look good. Until I used it, anything that touched it scratched it. It wasn’t too long before it wasn’t looking too good.
That’s my experience,YMMV.
As for the spider crack, what I did for those was to sand back to the fiberglass, then skim it over with Bondo, sand smooth, prime and paint.

Good Luck.

Thank you, I appreciate the advice!

LohmanBoy,