4 seater, reasonable price?

I am very new to paddling - been kayaking a handful of times. I am a single mom to 3 daughters with special needs. None of them would be able to kayak alone probably ever. I have recently moved where we are near lovely estuaries and intercoastal waters. I need to get more in shape and we all need to get outdoors more.
Is there a kayak, or similar that could seat the 4 of us? Not only that but I will be the sole paddler and the only one to load/unload therefore lighter is better as is ease of use. Is there such a beast? Oh yeah, the price needs to also be reasonable. I’d love to hear any suggestions for us.

I would think a canoe would be a better bet, but a talented builder could make a 4 place kayak.
Here is a link to look at a canoe that would work, but may not be what you’d like:

Anything large enough to hold 4 people is not going to be very light. So the project would need to come with a cart. I would also suggest a trailer to tow it instead of trying to load it on top of a car or truck. But working with only 1/2 the weight at any time makes moving heavier boats much simpler. That’s why I’d suggest the cart and trailer. With wheel under it, and rollers to help you load and unload you are going to be lifting 1/2 the weight only. And with a trailers you’d only need to bring it up about 2 feet, such a canoe of kayak would be manageable. But keep in mind what ever you’d use needs to be safe and have some margin of floatation with your body weight and the weight of all 3 girls plus all gear. That means a lot of length or width or maybe both. Such a craft can’t be made very light weight. So my guess is the weight of the kayak or canoe is going to be in excess of 90-100 pounds. Klepper in Germany makes one, but I don’t know the cost of the weight.

2 Likes

What happens with 3 special needs children in a rescue situation with one adult? An adult that is probably not well versed in self rescue for themselves.

6 Likes