400km 5 Day Ultra Marathon - Plastic boat potential?

Hi people,

I’m new to paddling, but not new to ultra marathon events (cycling, Ironman, running).

I’ve read a fair bit of plastic vs fiberglass conversation and it seems clear that plastic is the slowest material to compete in for flat water. I haven’t however found any reading that has quantified how much slower plastic is. I have read posts on this forum suggesting that “plastic and fiberglass will see you complete 20 miles at the same speed but with different energy levels” (the physics of this notion doesn’t seem to add up… to sound like a cyclist for a second, If you put 200w through the paddles of both materials, one will surely be faster??). What I’ve tried to find on the internet is a study that suggests, “in a controlled environment, a carbon boat can maintain this speed with this much power supplied, a glass boat can… and a plastic boat can… etc”. But I haven’t had a whole lot of luck.

Anyway, I’m sure some of you guys can help! This community seems to be the standout authority on kayaking globally.

My situation…I’m undertaking a five day 404 kilometer river marathon in November (the river current speed is probably modest, not fast). The kayak I plan to use is a Riot Brittany 16.5 (5 meter, 30 kilogram touring sea kayak). It’s a battle axe no doubt, but assuming I’ve done my preparation, will I have a chance of completing this event? Or more clearly articulated, will this boat be 10% harder to ride in than a fiberglass craft of the same length… or 20%, 30% etc?

Any advice is VERY welcome.

Thanks, Brad.

Materials matter only if both are unscratched. John Winters has stated you lose 10 percent of speed potential with significantly scratched bottoms that impede water flow. And most plastic hulls are already a little bumpy from manufacture.