97' 4-runner kayak roof rack

Please help. I have a 97’ Toyota 4-runner and would like to carry a 10.5 foot Dagger Blackwater Kayak or 9.5 foot Preception. I have a factory rack on the 4-runner. Nevertheless, I am not sure if I need an aftermarket specifically for the kayak. I want something that is secure but easy to load and unload. I’ve visited the Yakima and Thule web-sites but still not really sure what I should do. I am a beginner kayaker so I need some advise from those with trial and error on racks. Also, I’m going to purchase a Dagger Blackwater 10.5 or Preception 9.5’(the Dagger has the dry well). Any suggestions. I’ll be doing lazy rivers, creeks, and ponds but hope to build up to quicker rivers. Thanks!

I have a 99 4Runner
I decided not to rely upon the factory grooves to attach my rack to…definitely did notuse the factory rack.

I purchased a Yakima (Thule and others are fine as well…just like the Yakima as my last one lasted 14 years). I then picked up their attachments which hook directly onto the roof above each door rain gutter. This is the way you can guarantee maximum weight capacity.

Has worked great thus far.

Bob

Racks
I have been very pleased with the Malones I installed using the factory-installed rack on my Tracker. They easily fit the cross bars and a set costs between $50 and $90.00 depending on the set up you pick for your boat. Very easy to install using a box wrench. I have both the “gull wing” and “J” models. Check out www.maloneautoracks.com

SYOR,

Cal

98 4-runner here
I use Yakima with the tower insert for the factory rail on the rear, and the standard tower which clamps on the body of the car near the leading edge of the roof above the front door.