A beginner with a question about fit.

I’m a total beginner to touring kayaks having only been on sit-on-top kayaks. I’m looking at the WS Tempest, Perception Essense and Necky Looksha. I’m 6’-4" 185 lbs… what size kayak is recommended?

Try them out
The best advice would be to go to shops and sit in the boats. Paddle them if you can. I always equate it to a running shoe. The touring boats should fit snug but not uncomfortable. Many of the kayaks available now have outfitting that can be easily adjusted so you can change for summer or winter clothing. The fit really comes down to personal preference.

Believe It Or Not
My buddies of your dimensions love the Tempest 165. BUT… the reason they can get their long legs in and out is because I moved the seat back a couple of inches. Unless you plan to load the 170 down with a bunch of gear I think it’s too much boat for you.

Try a bunch.
You have to fit and be snug, it has to keep up with your paddling partners with you and 20 lbs of stuff for a day trip and perhaps 100 for a week end.

If you get a decent boat, what ever you get you will love.

I am 5’8" on a good day and 177 lbs. I padle an Explorer. When I am not in her it’s an Orion, Capella, Makkovik, Sealution 2. While I would not recommend a Sealution 2 to an experienced paddler all these boats have a place.

Oh DON"T ger a 19 foot long 20 inch wide rocket because some fool sais: “you will grow into it!” You won’t. Instead you will quit paddling and someone like me will buy a nice boat cheap.

Alex

size
I am with the others. Get butt time in each boat.

With your body size, you likely would fit in a standard size boat (as opposed to smaller paddlers - like 5’2" 100# women - would would need a small or LV boat). The one challenge you may have is being taller than average, so make sure you find a boat with leg room and that lets your legs be comfortable.