A canoer seeks advise about Sea Kayaks

I started paddling a few years ago after I retired. I opted for a canoe because I wasn’t sure of what I wanted and needed something that I could paddle tandem with two dogs as shifting cargo. Also, my wife and I were always interested in Tripping so a canoe seemed appropriate. We now own three canoes.

One of the fun – and frustrating – things about Tripping is trip discovery and planning. Out here in the Northwest, I’m frequently disappointed because many trips are for sea kayaks. On my to-do list is Glacier Bay up in Alaska, the Inside Passage up to Alaska and the Florida Keys. I’ve been hinting to my wife about getting a sea kayak for a couple of years now and I finally insinuated myself into a tentative approval for a sea kayak. And not only an approval for a sea kayak, but perhaps two solo sea kayaks. I must point out that my wife is not a sports oriented person, a tentative paddler that finds all the canoe strokes confusing. We had both flat water and white water classes which helped her a little, but she still doesn’t feel confident paddling a canoe. You have the draw, the pry, the forward sweep, the reverse sweep, the duffek, all the cross strokes, etc., and then to really throw in a curve ball, doing a backward ferry makes her the stern paddler and she has to do all the correction strokes backward. Which leads to the first question: would it be reasonable to get a tandem sea kayak and use it for extended trips? I’m thinking of a tandem sea kayak as a hedge against her having the same problem paddling a kayak as a canoe. What kind of problems do you have with self rescue that you wouldn’t with a solo boat? I assume that you don’t have as much storage space as with a solo. Also, I’m 6’1" and weigh 200 lb. and she’s 5’3" and weights 130 lb… Would that work? Can you paddle a tandem solo?