A caution on new tiedown straps !

-- Last Updated: Oct-09-05 6:31 AM EST --

I have been using the same tiedown straps for about twelve years now, and they are nice and plyable.
I always cinch them down as tight as I can get them regardless weather I am using them on canoes, kayaks , composite or poly.
When the boats are cinched down to the cross bars with them you can grab the bow or stern and try to pull sideways and there is no way they will budge.

Today I broke out a couple of new ones (two different brands) and did my normal gazillion footpounds of pull on each, but no matter how hard I tried to cinch them, the strap still wanted to slide a little when I was done.
When I had both straps on as tight as I could get them and grabed the bow, I was surprised to find the canoe would slide sideways about an inch.

Needless to say I changed them out for my old ones.
I plan on using the new ones to tie down some lumber and use them on short slow trips until they get some good flexibility to them.

So use caution when you are using new ones!

Cheers,
JackL

Where did you buy those?
I’ve never experienced anything like that, after probably a dozen new straps from various sources over the past few years. You might consider returning them, as they are not fit for their intended pourpose (IMHO).

I’d also be wary of stretching the lifetime of a set of straps more than a couple years of even moderately active use. The do deteriorate from sun, salt water and stress. The consequences of strap failure are too awful to contemplate – or pinch pennies over (IMHO).

–David

–David.

They are good straps.
They are just too stiff.

One is a Thule that came with a set of Thule J cradles, and the other came from the Great Outdoor Provision Company with their logo on it.

I think they will be fine once they get “broken in” from some use.

I am just giving a warning.

Cheers,

JackL

Wash them in plain water