A few simple questions from a newbie

-- Last Updated: Jan-05-12 1:50 AM EST --

Thanks in advance to anyone who shares some insight or advice.

Question 1 - Aside from a rental or two, I'm new to kayaking. The only river-running experience I have is derived from rafting in WV. I'm 5'9", 140 lbs. I'm athletic/adventurous enough to where I would eventually like to get into running class I-III rapids in a kayak, but love exploring, documenting and observing wildlife and taking my time during day-trips. ANYway- I've been looking at the Future Beach Trophy 126 kayak as my first boat. Would anyone recommend or argue with this???Good first buy? Waste of time?

From what I've read it is extremely stable, tracks well, on the slower side, and has a hull design that I'm not really familiar with. Would a yak of this design be suited for running fast lines if I wanted to test whitewater??

Question 2 - This seriously comes off as the dumbest of all questions, but when you reach the take out how do you make it back to your vehicle at the put-in site?? Again, my experience is mainly with paid rafting excursions and this is something I just can't wrap my head around. Are two vehicles involved? One at each site? I assume the answer is right in front of me, but I'm completely in the dark on this and figured I would ask.

Many thanks! Cheers

quick answers
just off the top of my head, that kayak (Ocean State job lot??) sounds like it wouldn’t be good in technical water of any sort. Think I’ve seen the adv. for them.

For returns to the car…bicycle shuttle if solo, 2 car shuttle with a friend. Only required on moving water.If running bike shuttle, I generally leave my truck at the takeout and pick up my bike on the way home. Bring a cable lock.

Can’t help you on number 1., but
on number 2 you have several options:

• Go with another person and do a shuttle
  • Pay for a shuttle from an outfitter