A good GPS for mapping rivers?

I’m going to be canoeing on the Ill river, and I have not been able to find a good map of the area that I am planning on doing. I have a topo map of the area, but it is old and out dated.

So I was thinking that a GPS unit might be the best thing? I want to be able to tell total distance traveled, and maybe ‘make’ maps as I go? Like set specific points along the way that are of interest or of importance.

I’m a novice in the world of GPS, so can anyone give me some suggestions or other ideas to achieve my goal?

L

Topozone.com
maybe Google Earth…

Better yet try a bait/fishing shop…Maps of waterways are sold to boaters…

Heck, even the Wal-Mart nearest the River will have maps of the River in the Sporting Goods Section…Ask the clerk at the desk in Sporting Goods.

Try Terraserver too

– Last Updated: Jan-12-06 9:08 PM EST –

Terraserver has at least two or three sites, and I find that one of the older sites is a lot better for my purposes, since it has a combination of up-to-date 7.5-minute (or any other scale you want) USGS maps, and the capability to instantly trade a map view for an air photo that has the same scale (one of the newer Terraserver sites has the same photos as Google Earth, and these don't show much detail at all. That's based on the Google photos I've seen, anyway).

When I get home from work this evening, I'll post the link to the Terraserver site that I use. It's a free site.

Okay, here's the link:

http://terraserver.microsoft.com/

In very rare cases you may find that you run "off the page" when scrolling across the landscape with air photos or 7.5-minute topo maps. Usually you can continue to scan in the desired direction by zooming way out and skipping to the side a ways, then zooming in again. This puts you on a new "page" which is based on those topo maps which cover a really huge area (and which don't provide much detail). In even rarer cases, there are small gaps in the area covered by air photos.