A GPS for the Sacramento-SJR delta

I’m thinking about a multi-day camping trip in the delta. From what I’ve seen on Google maps and nav. charts it seems like it’s possible to make lots of wrong turns, so although I intend to rely on chart-and-compass navigation, I’d like to have some sort of GPS device as a backup if I get really lost.

Since I’m unemployed my budget is very limited, and I’m going to look at old or obsolete gear that I can get cheap. I’ve never used a GPS device of any sort, and so it’s hard to figure out what’s going to help me when, for instance, I’m in one of two sloughs that are next to each other.

So–will any GPS handheld device do the job? If I can find a marine GPS cheap, is it likely to have an accurate chart of the delta? Since I’m used to doing without new technology I have no previous experience to draw on, and I’m not sure what to look for.

Are you already skilled with map
and compass?

plotting map coordinates only
If you know how to plot given coordinates,(either in UTM or Lat-Long), then any working gps should do the trick fine with a map that has coressponding grids marked out on it. For many years I used my gps units solely in this manner, basically as a verification/correction tool to my map & compass navigation. This is a more time consuming method and in rough water could be a safety issue compared to a modern unit with maps/charts loaded into it. For low budget use, as stated, go for the best deal you can find and work on your skills with map, compass & gps. This way you’ll not end up dependent on the gps as so many people do. From experience I’d highly recommend any working Garmin unit, as IME they generally have the best user interface.

All the best, t.george

The cheapest you will probably find
that you can use to keep from getting lost is the little yellow Garmin Etrex.