A Humbling experience indeed!

I just received my new QCC600 this week…

After bragging to all my friends on what an outstanding kayak I purchased, and telling them of my experience as a paddler, I was completely humbled the first day out with my the new 600.

I have been kayaking for a few years now… and 99% of it has been in a huge tandem. Sea Kayaking off the coast of Kodiak Island, Yukon River Quest Race, and misc trips.

I decided I wanted to try the Yukon River Quest race next year, but this time solo. So, I picked the 600 for my boat.

Wow… this boat is humbling… Being its Kevlar, its very lightweight, and nothing like what I am used to in a large heavy tandem.

My first trip out, I dumped it. And with each stroke I felt I was just about to lose it. I couldnt believe the difference in the feel of the boat to what I was used to. I had no idea that the difference would be so drastic!

I like the boat… I just figure I need to go back to step one, and learn to kayak all over again nearly.

Have any of you ever gone through something like this?

I am also paddling with a paddle that feels too long. I am wondering if this might have a bit to do with the awkwardness I am feeling as I take another stroke of the paddle.

I put my daughter in the back hatch for a quick ride, and the boat settled right down for me and felt quite a bit more stable. But with no weight in it, I was surprised how light and unpredictable it felt on water with just a little bit of small chop.

So, I guess I would just like to hear from some of you whom have had experience going from a wide kayak to a narrow one, and how you overcame the difference.

Any advice?

Don’t worry…
…a duck wake would flip me when i first started paddling surfski. The only remedy i can think of is TIME IN THE BOAT. Practice, practice, practice.

A couple in-boat balance exercises…

1. While paddling, turn your head to the left/right as if you’re talking to someone.