A Kayak for a Big & Tall Man

My man was ready to pick up a kayak at Costco - but I stopped him - even though I was thrilled that he would join me in this sport. I felt like a bit of research would be needed to make sure his experience was always enjoyable - and bad fitting kayak could be a big turnoff.

So, yes, we will be visiting all of our local paddlin shops and trying some on - but all suggestions and experience from the Big & Tall kayakers would be appreciated! Thank you!

come on
Why can’t you just post his height, weight, and inseam

I’m that guy…
Mostly because of not knowing… I have no experience with or around kayaks… Just childhood and teen years canoeing recreationaly. I had never looked at one until Costco at that time I figured they were pretty much the same other than size and type.

Secondly, she doesn’t know my sizes, The question about measurements makes sense, but asking if there is any general knowledge about boats for large people isn’t unreasonable either.

I am 6’3", about a 32" inseam. 270 pounds. Don’t make me sit on anyone! :slight_smile:

The only thing recreationally to pick up
at Costco is a bad cold.

Go to a good dealer with experience in rec kayaks, real kayaks, and canoes, and they’ll set you up.

You aren’t that tall, and 270# is not quite outside the normal range.

Some background reading

– Last Updated: May-17-13 10:17 PM EST –

California Kayaker Magazine has an article in its most recent version on the different types of kayaks out there, and what they are designed for. Might be worth a read to start. Can be read online for free at http://www.calkayakermag.com/magazine.html. Issue #10, starts on page 6. Talks about the differences in sit on top vs sit inside vs white water, etc. Use this as a guide to help direct you towards a type of kayak.

If you go in the direction of a recreational class kayak, maybe also read the article in Issue 6.