A kayak for someone without a car?

Hello,

I’m a student in Chicago and I live about half a mile from Lake Michigan. Although I don’t have much kayak experience, I’m interested in buying a one so I can go out on Lake Michigan a few times a week this summer.

There’s one potential problem, though. I have no car. What kayak (other than a light one) would you recommend for this type of situation?

The cheapest and lightest kayaks I see are inflatable – is this the way to go? How difficult are they to inflate on the beach? I’m reluctant to spend significant $$ for something that I’m only going to be able to enjoy three months of the year.

Thanks for your help!

Half mile???

– Last Updated: May-20-07 5:24 PM EST –

That isn't very far. Build a good kayak cart with 20 inch bike tires and you ought to be able to haul any boat a half mile. Let me add this: talk to local paddlers before buying a boat. I think an inflatable would suck on a big windy lake.

Better idea
How can you justify the expense of buying a kayak for 3 months a year when you can rent for pretty small change? Do that and when you have actually had your backside in a seat for awhile as opposed to just thinking about kayaking - then you can revisit this question. And trust me on this - whatever you would buy today - is almost certainly not what you would buy after you’ve got the experience.

Inflatable not optimal but …