Add Skeg to Inflatable???

-- Last Updated: Oct-14-08 1:00 AM EST --

Hi everyone.

I have a TK-1 inflatable kayak by Kwik Tek. I love it and it seems to be a pretty good little boat.

However, it's tracking is a bit suspect to me. I'm a newbie at this, so I'm not sure if it's the tracking or if it's my paddling technique. I am trying to learn better technique, and as I feel I've gotten better the tracking has seemed to get better.

As soon as I stop paddling, the boat will start to go into a bit of a sideways turn. When I'm paddling, it goes straight, albeit in a slightly zig-zag motion which from the videos I've watches is pretty typical for a shorter inflatable.

The TK-1 has four TINY little fins on the bottom...but I'm wondering...will it not go into the sideways turn when I stop paddling if I were to add a bit larger fin to it? Like if I replaced the farthest back small fin with a bit larger one, would that help the boat stay a bit straighter when I stop paddling??

Or is this something that I should remedy by perfecting my paddling technique instead of using a "Band-Aid" if you will...that Band-Aid being the larger skeg/fin.

I've got a few ideas in mind for adding a slightly larger fin that I think would work out pretty well...but I don't want to do it if it's going to negatively effect my ability to paddle correctly.

Or save for used hard shell?
That looks pretty close to what I rented my first time down easy class 2 WW. Great little boat and I’d happily pick one up used if a good deal came by, but there may be a point of diminishing returns on messing with it. Also, if you add too much in the way of a fin it’ll make it more difficult to turn and maybe just change the problem you have.

What about saving for something beat up and narrower in a hard shell for your longer term purpose? Would that work?

Don’t bother with skeg on Kwik-Tek.
Right idea, wrong boat for it.

But you’re on the right course:

1). Continue to perfect a high-angle forward