Adding 2 - 11” Hatches

Hello, I’m new to Kayaking and very excited to get out for my first time this weekend. I wasn’t sure how well my 6 yr. old daughter and I would enjoy it so I decided to purchase a cheaper tandem from Sam’s Club (Lifetime Envoy 106) It came with only one 6 inch hatch up in the very front. And I’ve done lots of research, and I’d love to add two more…(1) in the center between both seats and (1) in the very back behind the seat.

My question is, is it okay to put one in the center? And if I go alone will I need to sit in the center (maybe thinking on top of the center hatch) if possible because a seat can be moved and adjusted there. And I plan on doing a couple kayak/camp trips this summer and I know that with loading gear on top and under that the weight needs to be distributed evenly.

See uploaded pic. The purple circles is where I’d like to add the hatches. The center one is where a seat would need to be positioned for single use with the hatch.

Thank you!

Welcome to kayaking Kalindaswim. I hope you and your daughter enjoy your new kayak.
If you truly would love the process, the work, of adding hatches, you truly know exactly how you are effecting the integrity of the kayak, you are welding plastic to reinforce the structure of the kayak where you are cutting out some of the structure, and you are making sure that the sealed sections of the kayak that were watertight are still watertight, then why not? Have fun with your project.
If it is a case where you would just love it if they were there, not so much love the process of adding them with an understanding of what it would take, then it may be best to just forget about that, and try kayaking instead. You don’t want to learn from your mistakes with your 6 year old daughter with you.
Use a plastic jar under the bungees for dry storage, or a dry bag, or whatever kind of container that would be watertight.