Adding to my Little Fleet

I’ve been considering a tandem canoe for a couple of years now. Rena, my main paddling partner, and I could use another choice for tandem paddling, and rarely a non-paddling friend has been interested in getting out on the water too. This winter I decided that I’d pick one up at Canoecopia, and that’s what I did. I made my choice long before, and I hit the show early so if they had the model and hull material I wanted in an acceptable (to me) color, I could snatch it up before someone else did and thereby avoid an eight- or ten-week wait for a special order. Rena has a Mad River Eclipse, and we aren’t too thrilled with the thing since it’s Royalex Light, a material which no canoe should ever have been made of. The new boat is a Nova Craft Prospector 16 in Tuff Stuff, and we can hardly wait to try it out. It should maneuver far better than the Eclipse, and will probably be faster too on account of much finer entry lines, a much rounder cross section, and a very stiff hull. I’ll remount the seats on a slope to accommodate kneeling, and we’ll be all set. Now, I might even learn poling!

https://www.flickr.com/photos/11908573@N00/39918316235/in/dateposted-public/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/11908573@N00/39003500030/in/dateposted-public/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/11908573@N00/39918307855/in/dateposted-public/

I have long been interested in a prospector. Is this the same as wenonah’s tuffweave? Nice canoe, and my choice of color too. Although I have become use to my Red Kevlar MRC explorer which I picked up used for 700. That price sure made it look good! I enjoy paddling a tandem for a change up from solo. Really fine when both paddlers are in sync.

@castoff said: