Adirondacks

I’m new to paddling.net and very happy to have found it. I’m looking for a little advice on the Adirondacks. My wife and I are looking to do a three or four night canoe trip there over Columbus Day weekend. Ideally, we like to establish ourselves in a base camp on from which we can do interesting day paddles. Portaging is fine. (In fact, we actually enjoy it.) To the extent that it’s possible, we like to be away from other people and away from development. I know that’s not easy in the Adks, especially on a holiday weekend at the height of leaf season. But there must be some areas that are less accessible and thus less frequented, right? If it’s possible to reserve a campsite ahead of time, that’s great. If not, no problem. We normally take our vacation time on northern Maine lake systems, but Maine is too far to go in the short time we have available to us in October. The Adks are much closer to home, but we lack knowledge of the area. Any advice would be appreciated.

Ask here
http://www.adkforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=62

Lots of helpful folks and good information at this site.

Columbus day weekend not busy
Between 4th of July and Labor Day is the busy season in the Adirondacks. After Labor Day there are no crowds. The St. Regis Canoe Area is your best bet for a base camp + day trips. There are many campsites on the Floodwood Road that are first come first served. You can set up there and day trip into the St. Regis. There are several loop possibilities right from your camp depending on where you set up. It is a great time of year to be there, no bugs, warm water, and nice cool evenings.

Bill

Portage
into Sergent Ponds, great place to base camp. Over the 4th, the only way to get away from the general population is to do what the general population isnt willing to do…work. If you pack in a bit, you lose 80% of the majority. It’s not a bad carry either. Have fun.

Adks in Oct