Advanced elements firefly

Hey guys! I have an advanced elements firefly and I’m still pretty new to the kayaking world, but I’ve read in multiple places that they are not meant for open water. And I was wondering why that was? Is it because the wind and rough water would push it around too much and be hard to steer, or would it actually damage the kayak? Pardon me if this is an obvious question?

A few things…
To start with it’s 35" wide and under 8’ long, measurements which seriously compromise speed and tracking. Most kayaks that can handle open water are less than 24" wide and more than 12’ long as a minimum.

Inflatables like this are very prone to be pushed around by wind.

It has three inflatable chambers, which is certainly better than one, but what happens if one chamber fails? How durable can a $200 kayak be?

Sorry, but it’s really a “pool toy”. It will get you out on the water but I wouldn’t go further from dry land in it than I could easily swim.

a friend has one

– Last Updated: Jun-14-16 1:26 PM EST –

One of my best friends picked one up used for $100 so I'm very familiar with it.

It's really more a raft than a kayak and I have to agree that it is pretty much a pool toy and barely a step up from an inner tube. It should not be used in anything but a small pond or shallow narrow stream with very low flow. I would not take it more than 20 feet from shore and only in warm water no deeper than I could stand in. Such boats are slow, track poorly, are susceptible to wind and currents and would be quite dangerous in open water conditions because it's highly likely you would be unable to paddle back to shore. People too often fail to take this into account. Sure, you can float out to sea or down a river in or on anything, but would you be able to get BACK to where you started from in it when you are tired or the weather changes or even under normal conditions?