Advantage of shallow arch hull?

Took a trip to the outfitters a few days ago and saw a Riot rec/touring kayak I liked the look of - I think the name was Evasion 15.5. It has a shallow arch hull; I was wondering what the benefits of that kind of hull are.

I’m no expert but

– Last Updated: Feb-07-05 11:42 PM EST –

One advantage of a shallow arch hull is that it often offers more speed and better maneuverability that a shallow v hull. The arch approximates a circle so offers less surface area.

the shallow v offers better tracking. some shallow arch boats seem very easy to lean from chine to chine (like the seaward foster legend) This characteristic depends on draft, type of chine, etc etc. For a newbie the legend can be disconcerting, for an expert (not me) the ability to quickly shift fron chine to chine is very useful.

Hopefull someody who knows a lot more than me about this will give you better information.

Only One Component

– Last Updated: Feb-08-05 5:52 AM EST –

of the hull design. Other factors like rocker, deadrise (angle from keel to chine), flare to the gunwale, beam width, length, etc, all play a role in the boat's performance.