Advice about folding kayaks

We have a timeshare on Grand Cayman. The condo complex is on the ocean on the NE end of the island and has lots of potentially good kayaking. There are no kayak shops or tour organizations on the island. So I was considering the option of taking folding kayaks on the airline and using them while we are there. What has been your experience with doing something like that? Any recommendation about folding kayaks? What problems should I anticipate?

Go with a small package
like a Feathercraft. Airlines have been decreasing the baggage allowance. On US flag carriers, it is 2 pieces of 50 lb bags plus a carry on. I used to be able to carry my Khats and all gear in its backpack at 69lbs, but lately carried it and gear in 2 bags. I like the Khatsalano. The Kahuna is a decent kayak too. I have no experience with the Wisper,K1 or the sit on tops. Trak, Folbot and Bergans make sleeker models too. Try www.foldingkayaks.org

I looked at the Khatsolano
It looks like a great boat and would work well for me. But, $5200? Wow! One for me and my wife = over $10,000. Maybe I need a second mortgage.

Buy used
$2000-2500 could score you a Khats. About $1000 for a K-Light.

I have used my Khats on salt water trips, last one a 20 day trip from Okinawa to Amami Island Japan last year pics here http://foldingkayaks.org/gallery/album90

We have a timeshare on Grand Cayman.
I am sorry to hear it, perhaps you can “unwind” it before you lose too much coin. Sorry, couldn’t help myself but to interject my thoughts (as well as that of Money Magazine, Suze Orman, Jean Chatzsky, and every other money guru out there): don’t walk, run, from timeshares.

Been to Grand Cayman many times, but have not seen a kayak rental place. But with the inconvenience of toting a 50 plus lb folder in a bag, you likely could rent a kayak every time down there more inexpensively.

Here’s a kayak rental place I found online:

http://www.caymankayaks.com/index.htm