Advice and Suggestions on Sea Kayak

Hello All -

This is my first time on this site and looking for advice or suggestions on my next kayak purchase. I will try to describe what I am trying to accomplish and hopefully there is a kayak out there for me. Basically, I am a somewhat experienced kayak-er, but only with a tandem (Malibu Two)kayak as my wife and I use it together. Well, its time, and we have both agreed that we want to do separate things with our kayak. Fine by me! I live in Florida, gulf coast, and kayak mainly in the ocean. I am also a fisherman and exercise enthusiast. My ideal kayak would allow for me to use the kayak on the weekday for exercising purposes (smooth and fast preferably) and fishing on the weekends. I would also like having the stability of a sit on top. I was looking at the trident Ultra 4.7. Any recommendations or suggestions welcomed and hopefully I am not asking too much all balled into 1 kayak.

Some others to think about …
It seems like the trend in kayak marketing is to put a lot of “features” on a SOT and then sell it at a higher price as a “fishing” kayak. Why not just buy a Prowler 15 preferably used and save $1000. Or even a scupper pro used and save more. If you want something fast and fun to paddle look at the RTM tempo or disco or some of the South African SOTs.

Appreciate the feedback
I appreciate your feedback. Seems like there are so many choices and its going to be really difficult in choosing

4.7’is a nice big boat
How big are you?

4.7 Inquiry
I am 6 foot 205 pounds

Use what you have
How about convert your existing tandem into a fishing kayak? A lot of fishing kayaks are short and stubby and not as stable as a larger kayak. If you use your tandem, you already have a larger platform for more stable fishing in the ocean.