Advice for a newby - family canoe

-- Last Updated: Jan-19-06 7:40 PM EST --

I'm in the final stages of shopping for a canoe to accomodate my family of 5 (Mom, Dad, 7 year old, and two 2 year old's). I have a lot of sea kayak experience and no canoe experience so I don't really know what to look for. We want a boat to haul all of us and some picnic (and maybe some camping gear later) across lakes safely. From advise we've received from a couple local canoe dealers, they have me looking at either the Wenonah Itasca @ 19' (kevlar), the Clipper Tripper @ 17.5' or the Sea Clipper @ 18.5' (fiberglass). Are there any significant pros or cons with these models? Are there other canoes I should seriously look at? How long should I get? Is 19' too long? We're willing to stretch our budget to get a strong, stable, and reasonably light boat that we'll like for years to come. We also looked at the Old Town Kineo but it's almost 90# and at 17' that seems pretty heavy! That's too much if my wife wanted to take the boys out alone.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Family canoes
Well with a family of 5, it sounds like the canoes mentioned are in the right size range, though I would go for the Itasca from Wenonah, I certainly would no go smaller than 18’. I have a Wenonah Champlain, it is a big canoe, but with a family of 4 I would not want anything smaller. My kids are now 13 and 9, so I just picked up another tandem canoe, so we now will take two boats when we go out. At some point I will sell the Champlain and get a smaller tandem, but for now I enjoy having a bigger canoe. I would keep the resale in mind because at some point you will probably find having two canoes a good solution to paddling with older kids. Good luck and enjoy!

Get two boats!