Advice for buying a kayak, paddle & pfd

Hello,

I’m just getting started in kayaking. I’ve canoed a great deal in my life, but now I want to kayak. I’ve taken a basic class and an intermediate class, and tried out a few different types of kayaks, but there’s just so much information! I’d appreciate any help y’all can offer.

I’m 5’7 and 150 lbs. I’m super healthy but only moderately active. My man and I want kayaks to paddle about in the area lakes and rivers. This is flat water, as the even rivers here are really slow moving. I’d also like to take them to my folk’s house at the beach (Gulf Coast) every now and then, maybe two to four times a year. The bay there is calm, and I doubt we’d go out into the Gulf side unless with a large group of people who know what they’re doing. We might take a class down there as well. Up around here, we’d be paddling around on day trips and maybe an overnight camping trip four to six times a year.

Here’s what I’m thinking about buying. It’s not the end of the world if I have to upgrade later, because we have a bunch of young adult kids who could use our old stuff and go paddle around with us. There’s an outdoor store near here, so I can go there and check out all this stuff in person before I buy it. Here’s what I’m thinking.

Kayak: Zephyr 155? Some kayaks I get in are too wide. This one seemed ok. Can you adjust the kneepads, or are those fixed? They were a little wide, but from what I’ve read, anything narrower would be less stable. Also, this one had three hatches, and that seems to be a good thing. Are there any others I should look at? I’d like to stay under $2k.

Women’s pfds. What to look for? I’ve got some junk up front to work around (about 40”). I looked at the “Buyer’s Guide”, but it just looked like info from the manufacturers and didn’t give any reviews.