Advice for Colorado paddler

OK, I’ve got a question for those that have more experience than me. I’ll try not to be too long winded.

I’m wondering how much (if at all) deck height, volume, etc. will affect me learning to roll. This will affect my choices in buying a new kayak. A little about me. I’m an advanced beginner/intermediate paddler. I’ve taken several lessons and clinics and have a pretty solid ability to hold an edge to turn, self-rescue, brace, etc. I’m a big guy at 6’3" and 240#. Practiced tons of hip snaps but have not succesfully rolled yet. I am currently padling an older Perception Viscaya, which is pretty tall at the deck (14" or so), which is why I bought it used: it was easy to get in and out of.

Now that I am hooked, I’m in the market for a more “performance” boat. Here’s the dilemma. There is a new Impex Assateague nearby that I haven’t paddled yet, but suspect I’ll love. It seems like it will turn easily and be easier to roll (?) because it is relatively narrow (22.5").

The tough part is that I paddled a used Solstice GT HV and the guy has another Solstice GTS that fit my girlfriend perfectly (who loves paddling as well). I can get them both for the price of the one new Assateague new ($2800 for both) So, after all this, the question is: Should I get the two used Solstice boats for the price of 1 new Assateague? I want badly to learn how to roll and am worried that the Solstice GT with it’s high deck will be tough. Any advice would be appreciated. Cheers.

your kayak must fit
If you can turn twice before the kayak turns once, that’s a bad sign. To roll, you need positive contact with your boat. If you don’t have it, you have to build-it-yourself with minicell and glue. Otherwise, you’ll be tumbling around inside your boat like an astronaut doing summersaults in space. For me, contact at the inner knee/inner thigh is most important, so I installed agressive WW hooks.

This is not Colorado-specific advice.

For Colo specific