Advice for first kayak

I am new to kayaking and have been out with my brother just a handful of times. I’m looking for suggestions on a kayak to purchase with the following specs: 1 person, 10’-11’ long, sit on top, adjustable foot pegs. Retractable skeg would be a plus. Mostly used in shallow rivers. Not for fishing. Looking for manufacturer’s name and model. Also looking for a price range of $200-$500. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

Hiya Schmalz. A used option is obviously best for your stated budget, which of course could be any number of brands.

The only thing I can think of that comes close with adjustable footholds would be a Sun Dolphin Bali 10. You can look it up at big box stores. No skeg or rudder, but I don’t think that is a reasonable ask in the price range.
https://sundolphin.com/bali-10-ss/ Oh and a Capri 10 SS which is similar.
https://sundolphin.com/capri-10-ss/

If you are not looking for quality and looking for something to test the waters of kayaking, so to speak… then you could score something like that new with a paddle for $400. But no skeg.

Good luck–maybe someone else here will share a suggestion or other guidance.

There are many YouTube videos where inexpensive kayak models are reviewed and compared. This guy “Headwaters Kayak” makes quite a few. You may want to start there. Skegs are not usually a component of entry level boats and I doubt a retractable one would be an option in the bargain boat range.

If that’s a necessity for you, probably better start watching Facebook Marketplace and Craigslist for a used higher end kayak that is in your budget. Or look at some of the small inflatables like Advanced Elements, some of which have a fixed skeg. I am curious why you think you need a skeg if you are mostly going to paddle shallow rivers.

You didn’t share your metrics (height and weight). 10’ is a pretty short boat. If you are a big guy it might not handle well.

1 Like