Advice for my new kayak - Cortez 17.5

I have been paddling on recreational kayaks for many years, and have finally decided to get myself a good touring kayak built for speed. I found a very good deal on a kevlar Dagger Cortez 17.5, the kayak fit me perfectly.

Now I am somewhat concerned about stability and safety. I consider myself a somewhat experienced kayaker and have paddled through some very rough conditions, however I never took lessons or tried any rolling maneuvers. Nor do I wear a PFD vest (although I have 1) or a spray skirt.

The Cortez 17.5 seems like a very fast boat and has decent stability on a small calm lake. I am concerned about choppy waters and high winds on a larger lake. Is this kayak suitable for beginner-intermediate kayaks like me, or should I become familiar with rolling or seek an alternative kayak?

Also- in case the kayak capsizes, does the spray skirt make it difficult to quickly get out of the kayak - or is it a non-issue because the water won’t get in and I’ll just balance myself out?

PFD, sprayskirt and rolling
Seems wise to wear a PFD to me. I always do. Experienced sailor drowned a couple of weeks ago near me. Fell overboard without a PFD.

Skirt can make it more difficult to get out of the boat. Depends on the skirt and the circumstances. You should practice wet exits with skirt.

Rolling is always a good skill to have.

new kayak
WHY in heavens name don’t you wear your PFD? If it fits well it should be comfortable and maybe save your life. Or maybe you are pulling some kind of joke?

you are getting a racing kayak
if you do not learn how to roll you will go over in waves. Next time find some boat wakes over 6" tall and try to paddle down them and see what happens. It’s four times more difficult in 12" waves if you do not have a natural brace.