advice needed for first purchase

I need advice on a kayak…looking at the Manitou 13. Being 5’3" and a 115# woman, does anyone have advice on size and make most suitable? I live on the lake and plan to use it in calm waters along shorelines (to start with). Realize I am a novice. Thanks

check out this article
Check out this article from California Kayaker Magazine on Getting Started at http://content.yudu.com/Library/A1w16f/CaliforniaKayakerMag/resources/6.htm. You can read it for free online.

While I have not…
…paddled that kayak, I did notice that it appears to only have a rear water tight compartment. You might want to consider one with front and rear compartments like the Manitou 14 footer.

I have read glowing reports about the Necky Eliza, which is designed for smaller paddlers. I don’t know if it’s out of your price range but if you really get into kayaking the Eliza might be a better option whereas you could quickly out grow the Manitou.

Got a place nearby where you can give them a spin?

Size

– Last Updated: Apr-24-12 12:32 PM EST –

Welcome!

The Manitou 13 is a fine design, but I suspect that it might be a bit big for you to paddle comfortably. Your size puts you firmly in the "smaller paddler" category.

Length isn't the issue -- width, depth, overall size and cockpit fit are probably more important. A kayak that's too wide or too deep for you will be uncomfortable and less efficient to paddle. A boat that's too big will be more vulnerable to wind. A good fit in the cockpit is important for better control, especially if you encounter waves.

Your paddle should also be sized to fit you. Several manufacturers make paddles with smaller blades and/or shafts for smaller paddlers.