Advice needed

I am researching to purchase a canoe that I will primarily use on camping trips with my two boys (7 and 9). Small lakes and rivers/creeks up to Class I rapids. I have some experience in a canoe, Old Town rental. I would like a canoe that can be used for fishing and is relatively inexpensive. I looked at Dicks over the weekend and liked the looks of the Mad River Adventurer 14. It almost looks like a cross between a canoe and kayak. The seats looked very comfortable. It was $550.

Opinions?

Go 16’ - 17’
With 2 boys you’ll be cramped in a 14’.

I have a 16’ Penobscot that works great for me.

Mostly it’s me a my son (10 yrs old), sometimes my daughter (12) goes with us. We have canoe/camped with the 3 of us in it and it’s worked pretty good. If my daughter paddled more I’d probably look for a Spirit II.

BG

Yes, seconded
You’ll do much better with a 16-17 ft. boat. three people, even two small ones will be cramped in a 14-15 ft boat, particularly if you have any type of gear.

Canoe Purchase
It is hard to find any canoe for that price. Turn your boys loose on INTERNET research. Dad the problem is those boys are gonna want a boat of their own after there first trip. Get the largest boat you can (16 to 20’) the use it later for the pack mule for the loads of equipment. Again boat selection is related to the choice of water you wish to paddle on. (no current,some current,mild class 1,2 water) I recommend a canoe course also so all have the knowledge. If Scouting or the YMCA is in the future this would be a plus for them. I had two daughters and they both are avid canoe-women.

keep looking
Canoe lacks versatility. Its trying to be two things and does nothing well. It has a horrid hull shape and poor initial and secondary stability.

Dont be suckered in by price. You do not need a twenty footer but look for something that isnt so easily overloaded.

You have no experience given that you have tried one boat.