Advice on a Long Island (NY) Crossing

My name is James and I am a paddler in California. A friend of mine is doing a crossing of Long Island Sound with Kayak for a Cause and I have some kayak related questions. Hope that you can help.

The first set of questions are about gear. Do you use full wetsuits when you go out to the sound or the Atlantic? I am an ACA instructor in Monterey Bay-CA and because of the year round cold water temperature (low 50s), we use wetsuits year round. But I don’t know what the safety recommendation is for a July crossing.

What about layers and paddling jacket? Are they needed or recommended in the summer for a crossing?

The second set of questions is about conditions. Is it windy in the sound? I don’t have a tide chart but judging from the land shape, I imagine that there’s good current during tidal flows. Is the tide strong?

Also, is it usually windy in the middle of the sound during the middle of the day?

If there are any tips worth noting, please let me know. Your advice is very much appreciated.

You might want to post this on ConnYak…
www.connyak.org

Although there are a number of very active ConnYak posters on this site, you might want to post this one on the ConnYak site. ConnYak has many very talented/experienced paddlers who can help you out.

Bob

Water temps
http://marine.rutgers.edu/mrs/sat_data/?product=sst&region=nybight&nothumbs=0

a shorty at most

– Last Updated: Jun-25-07 6:53 AM EST –

You'll be really warm in a wetsuit in July. I'd wear shorts and a tech top and have layers ready.

There's a current but presumably the organizers planned the crossing around slack so it shouldn't be much more than ~1 knot. I don't know of any predictable wind pattern.

Lyn

Water Temps in the Sound