Advice on a Touring Yak

I am new to paddling.net, and love all the information - what a great site!

My wife and I are both outdoors people. Right now, she has a kayak and I don’t, and it’s time to do something about this. I am, however, feeling a little overwhelmed with the breadth of choice with regards to getting a new kayak.

She has a P&H Capella. I’m not sure exactly which one, but it’s 16’ or so. I am a much stronger paddler, so if my boat isn’t as fast, it’ll be just fine. I’m looking for something in the 14.5-16.5 foot range. I’m also leaning toward more of a touring kayak as opposed to the faster sea kayak’s. My reason for this is that it will be used for probably 75% day touring, fishing, and photographing. I don’t want a slow boat, but I won’t be racing anybody. Storage isn’t a big deal. When I backpack I fit everything I need for a week (including food) in a 3800 ci pack weighing less than 30 lbs.

I’m also thinking the touring boats generally have more initial stability. I’ve taken my wife’s Capella out a few times, and while I’m sure you get used to the tippy feeling, learn to control it, and then it eventually goes away, I’d honestly rather have a boat with more initial stability than her yak has.

Budget is approximately $1600 or less (less being better). I am 6’ tall and weigh a little under 190 lbs. I have a fairly athletic build. It’ll be paddled mostly on MN lakes, and some on Superior. I doubt it’d ever see an ocean.

Boats I’m interested in (in no particular order):

• OT Cayuga 160
  • Perception Carolina (either the 16 or 14.5)
  • Prijon Touryak or Seayak
  • Wilderness Systems Cape Horn 150 or Tsunami

I also noticed that Midwest Mountaineering in Minneapolis lists a Tsunami 160 and 165, but they aren’t on Wilderness Systems website? Anybody know why? Just like REI lists a Perception Carolina 15.5’ model, but it’s not on Perception’s site.