advice on buying a kayak

I'm new to kayaking and looking to buy a stable recreational boat. My price range is $500 to $1,000. I need a boat that's easy to get into and out of -- I'm north of 50 yrs. and weigh in at 225 pounds, so ease of entry and exit is important. Also, I'd prefer a fairly lightweight boat since I'll have to car-top it and haul it back and forth from the water by myself.
I plan to stick to ponds, small lakes and flatwater creeks, though I may venture forth into a coastal bay.
Here's what I've looked at: the Pungo 120, Heritage Featherlite 12 ft. and the Hurricane Santee Sport (11 ft, 6 inches). The Santee really looks nifty but I'm worried about the durability of the Trylon plastic. The Heritage has a good price but may be kind of barge-like in the water. I'm curious about the new Perception Prodigy but I can find no info on it.
To sum up: I welcome all suggestions on finding the right kayak. I want to make this a great Christmas present to myself.

Rec Boats
The Pungo 120 is a good boat but for just a few dollars and a few pounds more the 140 is even better…a little faster and a better track and glide. The same comments for the Santee…at 225 you may be a bit heavy for the 11 footer…look at the new 14 ft Santee Expedition (available with a standard or an open rec style cockpit).

You have a few that you like now you
need to try them if possible. That will tell you more than any write up or word of mouth can.

I’ll second that
Yeah, people here will tell you to try out any boat you are interested in, and you know what - they are 100% right. Spec sheets and other people’s experiences just don’t tell you what you need to know. Seat time will.

Good For you!
up to $1,000 will allow you to get the other necessities like the PFD and paddle too.