Advice on new whitewater kayak

Hey guys, I’m new to the forum and looking for a new kayak. I’m new to the world of kayaks and don’t know too much other than the basics. In your guys opinion what kayak is best for white water from class 3-5 on a regular basis, but can also fit a little bit of camping gear. I’m 6’4 and 215

start small - class 3 to 5 is dangerous
First, you say you are new to kayaking - I’d suggest starting a bit smaller. You don’t jump right in III plus. Class IV and V (and even III) can maim or kill. You work your way up to it.

Check out the article on basic types of kayaks in California kayaker Magazine in issue #10. The white water section talks about different types of white water kayaks. Can be read for free online at http://www.calpaddlermag.com/CaliforniaKayakerMag-Spring2013.

you need to decide how important

– Last Updated: Jun-04-14 5:30 AM EST –

the space for camping gear is. I say this because the manufacturers have marketed two styles of boats you might be interested in: hybrids, and river runners. They also make creek boats and playboats for more specialized environments.

Hybrids are basically large river runners and also referred to as "crossovers"-they include a hatch for overnight gear and sometimes feature a rudder to help with tracking. Usually the manufacturer says these boats are limited to class III or IV water for a maximum.

River runners- are your ww standard kayaks. Designed a bit shorter than the hybrids, they are the boats one sees on a typical ww river most frequently. They turn easily, come in different sizes to match the paddlers height and weight. and are both agile and stable in ww.