advice on purchasing a kayak

Hey there! I am new to the sport and looking for the right kayak. I was wondering if there is a type kayak(s) out there that will give me the stability of a novice but will push me harder into the sport. I will mostly be in steady creek waters at first but will be pushing for more once I get the hang of it. Is there a type of kayak and size that will be good for the recreational paddler but can also handle the white waters once I become more acquainted with kayaking? Thanks!

rent and try as many as you can
I rented kayaks for 2 years until I had a short list of boats I really liked. Your skill can change quickly, my first original favorite may have lasted me about 2 months, then I would’ve wanted to trade up to a more advanced boat. I ended up with a poly Tempest 165, and I still love my boat, the only thing better for me would be a kevlar Tempest 165 in my opinion. Everyone has a favorite boat, but everyone is different. Take classes and rent.

Go to a paddlefest if one happens near you. Good luck in your search.

Imperfect

– Last Updated: Oct-11-11 2:17 PM EST –

Mixed use kayaks are compromises in each of their uses, and if you are talking about gaining good skills for say class 3 white water will offer compromised levels of satisfaction. But the boat that will do WW really adroitly in he hands of a beginning paddler could be too slow for regular paddling.

It appears that you have decent flatwater paddling around Pittsburgh (Lake Elizabeth) as well as class 3-4 whitewater and a club that can provide good advice for how to get going. http://www.pittecp.org/activities/paddling/whitewaterkayaking.asp You should touch base with these folks.

Re the stability thing - if it means find a boat that won't let me capsize - you can worry about doing that or doing white water. Both are incompatible, at least if you want to learn anything.

Crossover or River Runner