Advice on purchasing a sea kayak

I’m relatively new to kayaking and looking to purchase myself a used sea kayak. I have experience kayaking on lakes and sheltered coastal areas. I used to live inland, but now I live near the ocean (Vancouver Island), and would like to kayak regularly around the island. I would primarily do day trips, but would like to do some overnight trips eventually. I’m a small woman - 5’2", maybe 130lbs - but pretty active/fit. I’ll be taking some kayaking lessons once the pandemic dies down to make sure that I can use the boat properly and safely.

I’m looking at a Perception Expression 14.5 kayak (4 years old) and a Tempest 170 kayak (8 years old). I am hoping to get some advice on which might be better suited to me. They are both being sold at the same price, but the Perception comes with some accessories (cart, life jacket, paddle).

I am leaning towards the Tempest, as it seems like a good quality boat. However, I am a bit concerned with the size of the Tempest when handling it on land. I won’t always have someone to help me load/unload it from my vehicle; will the extra length and slightly higher weight make it significantly more difficult to handle on land than the Perception?

What is your opinion on which boat might be better suited to me?

The Tempest 170, is too big for you. A 165, maybe as well. Depends on how your body is proportioned.

The Expression comes with a real high seat back. The seat back will get in the way with rescues and skirt fit.

If you aren’t in a rush, I would hold off on buying until after your lessons. But given the pandemic and how the kayak schools are likely closed, maybe it is worth getting a boat now to play with as you wait for the classes to startup again. For used, expect to pay between 1/3rd and 2/3rd of new price (the better shape and newer, the higher the price).