advice on wood kayak building, please :)

-- Last Updated: Apr-30-06 12:19 PM EST --

ok, it's official; i'm *totally* serious about building myself a sea kayak (from a kit).

i have a pygmy catalog, a CLC catalog on the way, and ton of questions, including questions i don't even know i have...yet.

here are some i *do* know i have:

1. are there any other companies or catalogs i should look into?

2. in the back of the pygmy catalog they have a list of books...any book recomendations?

3. i have a fairly comprehensive collection of tools from furninture refinishing, woodturning, and general DIY hobbies, but, will i need any tools specifically related to boatbuilding?

contextual comment: i have no experience with fiberglass or marine finishing. ventilation requirements and proximity to pilot lights (see question 4) come to mind.

4. plan A is to build it next winter in a friend's basement--if his basement window is high enough to get the boat through once it is complete. plan B is to do it this (or next) summer in my backyard. any comments on that?

5. any other general comments, advice, suggestions, directin, etc. anyone can give?

6. what other questions should i be asking?

i want to make sure i do my homework before getting into this and ending up in trouble. (how's that for a sentence with a beginning, middle and end--oops, is my inner nerd showing?)

thanks!

michelle

here you go
There is an excellent web forum for kayak builders here:

http://www.kayakforum.com/

If you are doing a stitch and glue, very few tools are needed. A good block plane is really all you’ll need. And clamps. Lots of clamps.

The fiber glass and epoxy stuff is ridiculously easy. I’ve been using epoxy in my basement near the gas fired water heater and heating boiler. I haven’t exploded yet. Wear a respirator, vinyl gloves and long sleeves. Varnish outside.