advice on yak appreciated

I am brand new to kayaking and am looking for some advice. After attempting demo rides in a couple of kayaks i’ve pretty much narrowed it down to the Wilderness Pungo 14’ and the Eddyline 12’ Sandpiper or Skylark. Tried the 14’ Old Town Dirigo and had a hard time with it. Was told the very flat bottom makes it very sturdy but harder to track. Pungo was a bit easier to try and paddle in a straight line with a strong breeze but still had some problems handling which i’m sure has a lot to do with no experience. Didn’t try the Eddylines as wind picked up but was told they are lighter and can easily keep up with Pungo which is 2’ longer. Since i have some back and shoulder problems it was mentioned that either of the Eddylines would probably be easier for me to handle. I know there is a significant difference in cost and that is reason asking for your assistance.

I am a not so athletic female just looking for a good and stable kayak that i could easily feel confident with on creeks and fairly calm river off the Chesapeake Bay.

Have Tried The SandPiper
It’s extremely stable, but it’s so wide that I don’t see how hip control is possible. Of course, it’s so stable that hip control it may not be needed unless you intend to use it in rough waters. It has no floatation. In the highly unlikely even that it flips over, it would sink. The cockpit is cavernous, so getting in and out is extremely easy. It’s very light and easy to carry.

By the way, beware that keeping the boat straight could be more a function of your paddling skills than the boat.

I did paddle with a middle aged woman who had the Skylark. She has traveled extensively with it over this summer and seemed very happy with her purchase. I haven’t tried this boat.

I would try them both, as they will probably feel different.

Good luck…Lou

Pungo 120
Greetings,