Advice: OT Loon 111 or Dagger Blackwater

-- Last Updated: Jun-02-12 7:19 PM EST --

Here it goes. Im brand new to kyaking. Im 5'6" 170 pounds. I have a choice of either an Old Towne Loon 111 or a Dagger Blackwater 10.1 kayak. My primary use will be on the lower Hudson River in NY near the Tappan Zee bridge close to shore. Once I get more experience, I may want to take my son (9 years old) or dog (35 lbs) out with me. Any advice.Thanks in advance.

Neither first
You are talking about too serious a body of water to be taking out a dog or a child in a rec boat, or yourself without a better background for that matter. Go to Atlantic Kayak Tours in Peekskill and spend some time talking to those folks about how to get started (right).

Please think this through
First let’s talk about you as a beginning kayaker. Do you know the Hudson currents? Can you handle moving water? Do you know what to do if you end up in the water?

Assuming that your answer to those questions is no, please don’t take a child or even a dog in the kayak with you. Thankfully, your 9-year-old won’t fit in a kayak like the Loon. It’s a one-person kayak.

The Loon 111 is open in the bow. If this kayak overturns it will quickly fill with a couple of hundred pounds of water and you will be helpless to empty it or get it back to shore. Trying to manage yourself, the kayak, and a child or dog at the same time would be impossible.

Postpone taking your son and dog for the moment. Learn about kayaks and kayak safety and then choose a kayak that is suitable for the conditions you intend to use it in. Start out in easy, safe conditions.

Good advice
Thanks all. That is why I post here. Help abounds. I am going to heed your advice and talk with a pro first. Thanks.

first kayak advice?
Waterbird any advice on a first kayak?

Some tips to start
I’m pretty concerned about your choice of the Hudson River. Any other water near you?