Advice purchasing a Kayak

I am relatively new to kayaking but have a background in other adventure sports. I am looking to purchase a kayak but need some advice on brand and model. I am looking for something preferably plastic, over 17 feet long, but narrower than about 23.5 inches, with a rudder. I am looking for something stable enough for open ocean but quick enough to paddle in long distance paddle races and adventure races. Any advice that anyone could give me would be noted and greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Get one with the big hole in the top.

why plastic?
Kevlar is lighter and faster. If you are racing to win, you will probably end up wanting a composite.

There is a lot more choices in composite too.

Most importantly…whats your price range?

take lessons and rent
As with anyone new to kayaking who is looking to buy, my strong suggestion is to take the basic kayak lessons (and maybe more) and rent boats a few times before buying. All too often, people buy kayaks before they really know what they want, and end up selling them shortly (or leaving them unused).

Instead, spend a few hundred bucks on lessons and rentals (many shops also allow you to apply rental fees towards the purchase of a boat, so it basically becomes a deposit). Also take advantage of any demo days that may be in your area. Get butt time in different boats and see what works for you.

You’re not gonna find
many fast plastic kayaks. Tough ones that can be bounced off rocks and enjoyed in rough water, yes, but not win races as a general rule. Weight is an issue, as are design compromises to make a plastic mold work, and also drag from scratches in the plastic.