advice to a complete novice !

greetings to all & any reading this.

I have some complete beginners questions - any responses gratefully recieved.

myself self & partner are planning an extended trip from the UK to B.C. this summer, & mean to do some long distance canoeing.

so far have purchased Wainwright’s “canoe trips B.C.” & read bits & pieces on various websites.

have undertaken very short kayak trips on 3-4 of occasions in the past.

no prior experience of canoeing whasoever, but planning on going on a 1 day course & then a 3 day easy river trip in the UK before coming out.

we’re hoping to do the Bowron lakes circuit when we arrive in B.C & follow it up with a more remote trip susbsquently.

we’re planning on using one 2 man canoe.

can anyone answer the following questions:

1. does this plan sound hopelessly unrealistic ? i’m concerned that there are some “intermediate” river stretches on the Bowron circuit & that our beginner status won’t be enough to deal with it. would we be best off starting off doing a trip that was 100% grade I ? or am i being unecessarily cautious ?

2. i’ve read that for safety’s sake when going into wilderness you shd have a minimum of 3 canoes: is going with just one (in our case) asking for trouble ? or on a popular circuit such as Bowron is it a justifiably low risk.

3. is righting capsized canadian canoe very difficult, & consequently having a capsize(esp in a wilderness area) a very bad idea ?

once again, many thanks for any suggestions.

Hello and Welcome!