AE Expedition

For all you inflatable gurus. I took a small dive and purchased the AE Expedition.I found it at a good price on line. My question.Is the aluminum back bone needed?I can purchase locally at the same price as online so I have not ordered yet.

I am 30 minutes from Galveston bay, Lake Conroe & Lake Livingston along with many bayous & rivers. So my paddling opportunities are endless.

I have read the reviews but any hints and suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks

Kayaker Kooman

I am no expert on inflatibles.
Infact, Ive never even paddled one. But I think the back bone is optional since it came out long after the kayak model did. I just gives it alittle more rigity. Good luck with your new touring kayak. :slight_smile:

is it the Advanced Elements one?
any inflatable kayak needs to be stiffened somehow…

with either extra air filled tubes running the lenght (and then they might not be sturdy enough) or with some sort of other type of reinforcement-fiberglas rods aluminum etc…

with out that rod the boat might just fold in half if you start hitting some bumpy water…

the secret to getting an advanced elements baot to paddle well is: 1/8th plywood cut to fit the bottom of the boat…works wonders…

AE backbone
It’s not an absolute necessity. Some people swear by them, and they will improve the rigidity of the boat, but the AE lines track and handle pretty well without them. If there’s no price difference to getting it locally then I would try the kayak without it first. It doesn’t sound like you’re going through any really rough waters where it might make a significant difference.

Just my $0.02.

good luck!

AE kayak and backbone
So I have an AE convertible and a backbone. I use it in flat water and in the ocean.

The backbone is not mandatory, but is helpful. For longer paddles and for rough water, the backbone seems to make the kayak cut through the water better and ride over waves a little better.