Alamax for total beginner surfer.

I posted the following on boater talk, surf zone. Interested in your thoughts here too though, especially since some of you know me a bit.

I’ve been sea kayaking for a year, in a 17 ft sea kayak, Tempest 170. Very solid Greenland style rolls and sweep to C roll. I took one informal surf lesson and want to do more play in the surf. 6’ 2", 225 lb, 38" waist, 32" inseam, 10.5 shoe.

Found an Alamax for sale locally, $150. That’s almost free. Have read a lot of the comments on boater talk. Alamax should fit my size well. Sounds like it’s a barge, heavy, turns slow, with the fins in at least. Difficult to roll. Likes big waves. The Pacific throws big waves, but I like small waves as a beginner, so will be looking for 3 footers at low tide.

Here’s the questions:

How much better is an Alamax than a sea kayak, which is what I have now?

Do you think the Alamax will give me a feel for surfing and let me know whether I want to trade up to a Mega boat, or will the Alamax just discourage me? Right now I just want to learn to ride down the wave, turn up the wave, ride back down. Not planning on doing tricks.

How hard do you think it will be to re-sell the boat later for $150?

I know, once I try the boat, I’ll know on the first two questions. Interested in your thoughts though.

Thanks,

Paul

Heard It Surfs Like A Pig…
but at $150, I’d would give it a go. I saw one up close. It looked okay to me, like a really long, long board. Definitely better for someone with some weight to throw it around.

I suspect that criticism may be because it’s being compared with some of the newer, more maneuverable surf kayaks. It seems to me that the boat should get some really good down the line speed and still be able to have some ability to make looping cutbacks, or at the very least be able to trim up and down, rollercoastering, the waveface.