All that I know is that I know nothing

Yesterday I was kayaking with my brother who has just begun paddling. He was in his new (2nd hand) Silhouette while I was in my Inuk. He asked me why his kayak had those sharp edges(hard chine) while the Inuk didn’t.

Immediately a number of p.net threads ran through my head and I ended up speechless. Years ago when I was a beginner myself I would have felt comfortable citing some kayak guru - but not anymore. Exactly what is the effect of the hard chines? How would the Silhouette behave with a more rounded hull? Beats me…

This seems to be a recurrent trend in my kayak conversations these days. Like a Socrates the more knowledge I gain, the less I seem to know.

How do you answer when asked if some kayak is good? “When do you want my 200 pages long report?” or “Beats me”?

In the end I gave my brother the ‘nobody really knows anything’ speech and he concluded that our field apparently needs more research. I guess it does.

/Peter

Well…
N. Foster, an avowed surf afficianado, has stated that he likes sharp chines on his sea kayaks, especially towards the stern, because they give better carving ability while riding waves. So, his designs have those.

sing

(shrugging as I finish this post).

The Silhouette IS a rounded hull
Just take a look at the underside. It’s an unusual combination of a rounded hull profile with hard chines, which produces the unique handling that one experiences in Nigel Foster boats. As has been repeatedly stated here, chine shape is just one aspect of hull design and it doesn’t define the performance of the boat.

Do You Know What You Like?
If you like a certain hull then you can look at it’s features (chines, rocker, length to width, etc, etc) to get an idea of what others you might like and maybe even why.

You still need the seat time to find out if those predictions are acurate.

“Me I’m just a lawnmower. You can tell by the way I walk”

Tommy

OT - Question