Alligators?

Well, since I’m in Eastern North Carolina, let me ask about gators. We do have them in our central to southern extremes. Has anybody met one and lived to tell about it? One of my guide books for Brunswick County warns about the presence of gators in some of the creeks.

Don’t worry about gators. They only
go after orange or yellow kayaks and canoes. Actually, they don’t bother anyone and this time of year, in the areas you mention, they’re pretty much dug into the mud trying to stay warm, as are most snakes.

In my area of the state,
(I live in Greenville and paddle on the Tar River), they aren’t a problem. I’m new to kayaking and I’m excited about finding new places around the state to paddle. But I have a 10 foot Hurricane Santee 100. There are alligators that are bigger than my boat. I used to be a Boy Scout. I remember the motto: “Be Prepared!”

Walley Gator
I paddle the lower Cape Fear River a couple times a year, never saw one. I live in Florida though near the Space Center and have (3) I paddle over in my canal everyday. Never had a problem with a gator down here as long as you know the do’s and don’ts. Exercise care!

For two years I paddled and fished
a lake inhabited by 50-60 gators over 8 feet. Its not a big lake. The largest was/is 13 ft according to the park rangers. I’ve paddled among as many as seven in a 100 yard area with no problems. I’ve hit them with my 9.5 foot kayak, the would just dive. I’ve had them surface next to me only to dive again and splash.

You are more likely to have a problem with a snake falling into your boat than with alligators. Then again, a snake in the boat can cause some to do a quick exit, not the best thing in alligator country.

Still, alligators attacking anyone, outside of Florida where idiots feed them and swim after dark in gator areas, or Louisiana where the gators know attack or be on the menu, you’ve no worries.

North Carolina