Altamaha River, GA - need info

Hi,

I am just beginning to plan a trip down the Altamaha River from where it begins (two other rivers combine) to the Atlantic Ocean. Around 140 miles. Plan to do it in 7 days in expedition sea kayaks with experienced long-distance paddlers.

Any info/links appreciated for my research - thanx!

Info needed:

Plan is for February - is that a good month?

Need Shuttle service - any recommendations?

Campsites - assuming most of river will have plenty of sites along sandbars. If anyone knows of specific points, campgrounds, Motels, etc. where to re-supply water, please let me know.

I think the most difficult place to find campsites will be closer to the coast - anyone ever camp on the islands along the Atlantic?

All info, advice appreciated. Would love to talk to someone who has done this.

We have a full roster (sorry) but if someone wants to come along with another group, the more the merrier!

dave

This link might help
http://www.altamahariver.org/arpmap.pdf

Kayak_Ken

Paddle from end to end

– Last Updated: Apr-07-08 8:20 PM EST –

The AJC newspaper did an on line blog of my 512 mile 30 day trip from the headwaters of the Yellow River down the Ocmulgee and the Altamaha to the Atlantic beyond Darien.

Stop and eat at Mud Cat Charlies in Darien. Great place to eat.

I'll see if I can find it but you can e-mail any specific questions to Richard@georgiakayaker.com.

I wilderness kayaked the river; no motels, carried my food and bathed in the river...with the gators.

Paddlin' on
Richard

Thanks
I think I saw some of your story through my research on-line. We usually do all wilderness camping but if the opportunity for a campground with cabins and/or showers comes along we are not too proud to take advantage of it.

I’m sure I’ll have some questions - especially about the coast like where to camp. Here’s one now: