And wood kayak builders here?

Any of you guys wood kayak builders? I am new to this forum and spend more time on the Kayak Building BB than I have here.

Getting extremely close to starting on another kayak. I have been dreaming about this for several years now. I built a 13’ tortured plywood boat several years ago.

We sold my house and buiot another one. Taken three years but this is finally finished. I finally have a huge shop and Space to build boats. Spent the past week rearranging and dumping junk out of the shop. Opened up the space to start on a pair of Kayaks. Just curious if we had other builders on here and what you built.

Pgymy 17’ Arctic Tern HV
Hardly ever use it, cuz…

“Dammit Spock! I’m a canoeist, not a kayaker!”

FE

Moving to row boats. Prefer open boats
and want more room. I’m finishing a 14 ft mouse boat as my first. Next will be one of Jim Michalak’s designs or a dory from either John Welsford or Gavin Atkins.

CLC CHESAPEAKE 17
Quite an attention getter at the ramp and great for what I wanted for on the water. Hoping to build a SOF this winter.

Superior Kayaks/CLC Arctic Hawk
Here’s the S&G boat I built:

http://picasaweb.google.com/watersprite/ArcticHawk

It was a great deal of fun building that boat, and even more fun paddling it! :slight_smile:

Now my interests are moving more towards SOF building, so I’m finally getting ready to build my first SOF boat.

Enjoy your new workshop!

Melissa

design and build
design and build.

website in my profile.

I have built two and a half Patuxant 19.
I have built two and a half CLC Patuxant 19.5’s.

Built my own, then another for a close friend, and later helped another friend build hers (doing about half of the building).

It was a pretty easy kayak to build and a great kayak to paddle fast in calm water.

It definately gets easier every time.

"easier every time"