Another newbie looking for advice

Hello everyone,

I’ve finally decided to pull the trigger and buy a kayak. I live on the south shore of Lake Tahoe and feel a kayak will be a perfect way for me to enjoy the lake and get a great workout.

I’ve pretty much narrowed my choices down to a WS Tsunami 14 or 14.5 (why should I chose the 14.5 over the 14?) or a Perception Carolina 14. While I am a beginner, I also want a boat that I can grow into, not outgrow too quickly. FYI, I’m 6’ and weigh 165.

Rudder or no rudder? I’m leaning towards a rudder, but welcome any thoughts on this topic.

I will mostly paddle Lake Tahoe. Who knows, maybe I’ll really get into the sport and start taking my boat places, but I definitely want to buy the best boat for Tahoe conditions as that will be my primary spot.

Any thoughts on the Tsunami vs. Carolina? Rudder vs. no rudder? Other options I should consider?

Thank you!

Best,

Rob

Rudder
or no rudder is obviously a personal choice. I am also a newbie to this. What I have learned so far is that a rudder is not a primary steering device on a kayak as it is on boats/ships. A kayak rudder is more for dealing with tracking issues caused by wind from what I understand.

The rudder can be used to help with steering but you still steer primarily with paddle strokes/techniques.

size

– Last Updated: Jun-28-12 9:59 AM EST –

Given your weight, I'd go with the 140 over the 145. You might even prefer the 135. I'm 5'9", 160, and prefer the 135 because it's not as wide as the 140.

If there's a WS dealer nearby, try to demo the Tempest 165 and 170 as well as the Tsunamis.

I'm not as familiar with the current Perception boats.

Demo or at least "test-sit" as many boats as you can. If you want to develop boat handling skills, you don't want to be sliding around in the cockpit.