Another Newbie Needs Advice

-- Last Updated: Feb-04-07 8:10 AM EST --

I am new to both kayaking and the boards here, but am looking for some advice. I am an avid fisherman just getting into kayaking and would like some advice on boat choice. My lovely wife has given me a large gift certificate for a local sporting goods store to put towards a new kayak (Yes, for some reason she is encouraging yet another potentially expensive hobby...) Because I am limited as to the store at which I will purchase the kayak, I am also limited as to my choices. The way I see it, I have two possibilities there: A Perception 14.5 Carolina or a Perception 11.0 Montour (From what I understand, a Montour is a rebadged Perception Pacifica or Dagger Blackwater.) I will be using it on the Finger Lakes in Upstate New York (75% of the time) and on slow moving local rivers (25% of the time). I also figure that I will use it solely for paddling about 25% of the time, and use it for paddling and fishing the other 75% of the time. The difference in price ($175 or so) isn't an issue. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Montour
My personal opinion is that you’d have a very difficult time finding a better Sit-Inside Kayak for fishing than a Dagger Blackwater. I’ve seen the Montour and it does look a great deal like a Blackwater. That drop-down skeg is very handy.

I’m not sure what your rivers are like up there, but if I recall they’re pretty shallow. The Carolina would have one advantage and one disadvantage compared to the Montour if that’s right. As a longer boat with roughly the same width, it’ll probably float shallow water better than the Montour. The disadvantage of the Carolina is that the Montour will be much more maneuverable with the less aggressive keel in the rear (unless you have the skeg down). The Carolina is meant to go in a relatively straight line fast. I paddled one once as a test paddle and found myself having to do a lot of backpaddling to make tight turns.