Another newbie wants a kayak. 😊

I’m a newbie that has fallen in love with kayaking over the summer. Right now, I’m using a friend’s recreational 30” wide beam Pelican kayak that is missing foot rests and a Walmart paddle.

I want to save and get a kayak that is in good shape, fits me physically, and will suit my kayaking style. I’m female, 55 years old, 5’5” tall and 135 pounds.

I see myself primarily kayaking in lakes, calm rivers, ocean bays and mangroves. IOW, sheltered areas, closer to shore.

I’m leaning toward kayaks like the Eddyline Skylark. Ideally, I’d love something narrower than the 30 inch loaner I’m using now since I’m smaller. I have no idea what other options are out there that might suit me. Nor do I have any idea about kayak building materials, durability or paddles suitable for beginners …with room to grow.

Would thermoform (spelling??) work well for me? I guess I should also find a lighter paddle that doesn’t break the bank and get a kayak around 25-28 inches wide? What sort of keel would help me track straighter in a 12’ kayak? Right now, I’m zig zagging impressively. :grin:

All advice is greatly appreciated.

Tracking device for a kayak is either a rudder or a skeg. Take a look at the articles on this site under “Learn”, they talk about this stuff. Note that paddling straight is more the paddled than the boat though.

There are other considerations, but best would be to read those articles then come back here.

Thx! I had no idea.
I’ve spent the evening reading and watching the videos. :smiley:

Welcome to the community, Ceci!

If you like the sport trying to paddle that fat box store boat with no foot pegs, you’re going to love it when you try a decent kayak. Kudos to you!