Another thread about choosing a kayak.

I have been paddling for many years, but only a few day trips a year on rentals and loaners. Moved to TN on Cherokee lake a few years ago and I have been trying to decide on boat for about a year. Yes, I know, ridiculous. But for all the water sports options in NE TN, I cannot find a retailer that deals in kayaks longer than 10 feet. So, I am left to order on-line, meaning that there is no chance to try these on before handing over my credit card info.

I am a woman, 5’3", 140# and will be doing only short day trips. (hate camping) Usually a few hours locally on the lake - which is part of the TVA dam system - and longer day trips here and on local rivers. Usually flat water, with a little 1+ ww here and there. I will paddle often by myself, and probably once a week or so with friends, who will not be able to keep up with me no matter which I buy

After much internal debate I have narrowed it down to 3. Perception Tribute 12.0, Perception Expression 11.5 w/skeg and WS Tsunami 135. Based on reviews and videos, I love the light weight and maneuverability of the first two. But I also like the idea of duel bulkheads on the Tsunami. Although I have never had a problem, I have heard horror stories about rude bass boat drivers and wouldn’t mind the added floatability if I should turn over. But for the price difference, I could buy a great paddle and PF gear. Ye, I know… when I said this to hubs he rolled his eyes and made sarcastic remarks about having to cancel retirement.

I considered Tsunami 12 or 125 but cannot find a seller I feel comfortable with. Prefer to deal with somebody who is going to have good CS and quality guarantees - so I would also appreciate recommendations of good places to purchase on line.

Thanks!!

I’d plan a vacation

– Last Updated: May-22-15 9:44 PM EST –